Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Book Three of Suzanne Woods Fisher's "Amish Beginnings" Series!

           "The Return"
   By Suzanne Woods Fisher

Release date: Sept 1, 2017
Genre: Amish

In a wild country, the true cost of love may be more than they can bear
Beautiful and winsome, Betsy Zook never questioned her family’s rigid expectations, nor those of devoted Hans—but then she never had to. Not until the night she’s taken captive in a surprise Indian raid. Facing brutality and hardship, Betsy finds herself torn between her pious upbringing and the feelings she’s developing for a native man who encourages her to see God in all circumstances.
Greatly anguished by Betsy’s captivity, Hans turns to Tessa Bauer for comfort. She responds eagerly, overlooking troubling signs of Hans’s hunger for revenge. But if Betsy is ever restored to the Amish, will things between Hans and Tessa have gone too far?
Inspired by true events, this deeply layered novel gives a glimpse into the tumultuous days of prerevolutionary Pennsylvania through the eyes of two young, determined, and faith-filled women.
My Thoughts:

When I see that a new book is being released by this extremely, talented author, my curiosity kicks into high gear, as I KNOW that I will learn something new, while enjoying a fantastic read . This book is the third, the last in the series  entitled,  "Amish Beginnings". As historical fiction has never appealed to me, this series is certainly an exception. Every book has taught me something of which I was not previously aware. What a great teacher , Suzanne is!! I just might become a fan of this genre!

The setting of "The Return" is during a rather dark period in the history of America, in the 1700's, when the Native People and the white settlers all were struggling to make the land their's and their's alone!  Both parties were angry, thus there was a general feeling of unrest and misunderstanding, causing much unnecessary violence. 

All of the characters in this story quickly became very real to me, as they were described in such a deep, detailed, yet realistic fashion. Their pains and challenges became mine as I walked alongside them on their troubled journey. Both settlers and the Native Americans had good and bad characters. Neither was exempt from the evil and the innocent. I felt a deep empathy for both cultures as the good suffered through these difficult times. 

The plot moved steadily, filled with twists and turns that keep a reader totally engaged from the first page until the final chapter is completed. I must admit that there were times when I just had to put the book down, and savour the moment, that is, come to terms with the loss and betrayal portrayed in this book.This novel is a great example of a "Thinking Block". It made me wonder how I can use what I have learned about the history of Pennsylvania to make my life and those around me happier and more content.  Suzanne writes a story of hope, there is always hope for a better future, restoration can be made if we can only listen and wait for the Lord's plans to become clear to us. Compassion and forgiveness are an underlying theme throughout this adventure. Where would we be without it?? As the characters learned, we have to sacrifice to others in order for us to achieve the peace that we all desire. 

What a magnificent conclusion to this best selling series!! Don't miss it! Suzanne gives us all a history lesson in the most enjoyable way!!

Today is RELEASE DAY! 

Click here to purchase your copy.

This book was received as a gift. The thoughts and opinions expressed are honest and my own.
About the Author:
Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Anna’s Crossing and The Newcomer in the Amish Beginnings series, The Bishop’s Family series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

Guest Post from Suzanne Woods Fisher

The Three Sisters’ Garden: Corn, Squash & Beans!
Corn was a new food to the immigrants to the New World, introduced to them by Native Americans. Soon, it became an essential part of their daily diet, in one form or another. Growing it brought yet another new discovery: companion planting in the form of the Three Sisters’ Garden.
ThreeSistersGarden2According to Iroquois legend, corn, squash and beans were three inseparable sisters who only grew and thrived together. 18th century Native Americans wouldn’t have understood the science behind why companion planting worked, but they knew it did. Beans, like all legumes, have bacteria living on their roots that help them absorb nitrogen from the air and convert it to a form that plants can use. Corn, which requires a lot of nitrogen to grow, benefits from the legumes and provides a pole support for the beans to climb. Low growing squash leaves shade the soil and prevent weed growth. Their sharp and prickly leaves deter pests. This tradition, of planting corn, beans and squash in the same mounds, became a sustainable system to provide long-term soil fertility among Native American tribes that farmed.
The wisdom of planting Three Sisters’ Garden was adopted by the immigrants, including our own Betsy Zook from The Return. Betsy learned of the technique while a captive among a tribe of Indians and later, after she had been returned to the Amish, shared her knowledge with Anna and Bairn.
ThreeSistersGardenHave you ever considered growing a Three Sisters’ garden? All you need is the right kind of seeds, a mound of dirt in a sunny spot, and to not forget to water. Mother Nature will do the rest.
Suzanne Woods Fisher is a bestselling, award-winning author of novels about the Old Order Amish. Her interest in the Plain People began with her grandfather, who was raised as a Dunkard (German Baptist) on a farm in Pennsylvania. Suzanne loves to connect with readers! You can find her on-line at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com.

Blog Stops

August 1: Quiet Quilter
August 1: Remembrancy
August 2: Bigreadersite
August 2: lighthouse academy
August 3: Genesis 5020
August 3: Book by Book
August 4: Carpe Diem
August 7: A Reader’s Brain
August 7: Pause for Tales
August 7: Splashes of Joy
August 8: Live.Love.Read.
August 9: Mary Hake
August 9: Simple Harvest Reads (Spotlight)
August 11: The Power of Words
August 11: Karen Sue Hadley
August 11: Neverending Stories
August 12: Cafinated Reads
August 12: TinaTruelove
August 14: Vicky Sluiter
August 14: By The Book


To celebrate her tour, Suzanne is doing an amazing giveaway from August 1 through 14! Check it out:
Four winners will receive one of the prizes below:
An Amish Gift Basket and a copy of The Return
Amish popcorn sampler and a copy of The Return
The Amish Beginning 3 book set series
One grand prize winner will receive:
An iPad Mini

You can enter at Suzanne’s website (http://suzannewoodsfisher.com/contests/) or on her Facebook page (http://gvwy.io/q1kb9u4)


  1. Great giveaway. I love amish stories


  2. i just finished this book my review is due tomorrow! I guess I am the first to comment on this post! I thought the book was good and kinda of sad but I guess that is history